MMA: AJ Pyro set for ONE Championship return

MMA: AJ Pyro set for ONE Championship return
AJ will make his return at ONE: Eternal Glory, which emanates from the Istora Senayan in Jakarta, Indonesia on Saturday, 19 January.
KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysian mixed martial arts (MMA) pioneer AJ 'Pyro' Lias Mansor is the latest name to be included in ONE Championship’s first event of 2019.

The 43-year-old will make his return at ONE: ETERNAL GLORY, which emanates from the Istora Senayan in Jakarta, Indonesia on Saturday, 19 January.

He is scheduled to face Indonesia’s Yohan “The Iceman” Mulia Legowo in a featherweight bout.

This bout will mark the Sabahan's first appearance in The Home Of Martial Arts in two years. His last promotional battle was at ONE: QUEST FOR POWER, which coincidentally took place in Jakarta in January 2017.

“I cannot wait,” the ONE Featherweight Malaysia Tournament Champion said. “It’s been a long time coming, and I’m glad to be back at ONE Championship.”

Mansor, who owns and runs Borneo Tribal Squad, has kept himself busy since his last mixed martial arts contest by training fellow ONE athletes Hisyam "Zephyrus" Samsudin, Audreylaura "Ice Comet" Boniface, and Jeremy “The Jaguar” Miado.
The announcement, which was made over the weekend, will also feature two athletes Malaysian martial arts darling Jihin “Shadow Cat” Radzuan defeated in her debut year with the world’s largest martial arts organization.

Those athletes are Indonesia’s Priscilla Hertati Lumban Gaol and India’s Puja Tomar, who will square off in an atomweight clash.

In addition to that, ONE Strawweight World Champion Joshua “The Passion” Pacio will defend his title against Japan’s Hayato Suzuki in the night’s main event.

This will be a rematch from their initial encounter in August 2017, where Suzuki submitted the Filipino via rear-naked choke in the first round at ONE: KINGS AND CONQUERORS.

Here is the official lineup for ONE: ETERNAL GLORY so far:

Joshua Pacio VS Hayato Suzuki – ONE Strawweight World Championship

Priscilla Hertati Lumban Gaol VS Puja Tomar – women’s atomweight

Stefer Rahardian VS Robin Catalan – strawweight

Sunoto VS Xie Jun Peng – bantamweight

Joseph Lasiri VS Jonathan Haggerty – Muay Thai flyweight

Yohan Mulia Legowo VS AJ Lias Mansor –  featherweight

Florent Kaouachi VS Steve McKinnon – kickboxing middleweight

Ahmad Qais Jasoor VS Masakazu Imanari – featherweight

Kharun Atlangeriev VS Koji Ando – lightweight