Ingredients in Daim, Toblerone chocolates safe for consumption by Muslims

Ingredients in Daim, Toblerone chocolates safe for consumption by Muslims
According to the statement, information on the ingredients used to produce Toblerone and Daim chocolates are printed and consumers are advised to refer to the packaging. - Filepic
KUALA LUMPUR: The manufacturer of Daim and Toblerone chocolates, Mondelez International stressed that ingredients used to produce the two chocolates are suitable and safe to be consumed by Muslims.

The company in a statement said even though the products were made in countries which did not need halal certification, they met the world consumer food standards.
"The Malaysian Islamic Development Department (JAKIM) has also issued a clarification that food products which do not have halal certification cannot be considered halal or non-halal," it said in a statement today.

According to the statement, information on the ingredients used to produce Toblerone and Daim chocolates are printed and consumers are advised to refer to the packaging.

"We will continue to cooperate with the authorities in the entire local market including JAKIM to ensure our products meet the requirements of consumers in Malaysia," said Mondelez International.

On Friday, JAKIM confirmed the two popular chocolates did not have the Malaysian Halal Certification and also did not obtain halal certification from any halal certification bodies overseas recognised by the department. - BERNAMA