Beralih ke pengalaman baharu laman web Astro AWANI. Klik di sini!

Abdul Wahid, Waytha Moorthy sworn in as Senators

Abdul Wahid, Waytha Moorthy sworn in as Senators
KUALA LUMPUR: Former Maybank president and chief executive officer Datuk Seri Abdul Wahid Omar and Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf) chairman P. Waytha Moorthy were sworn in as senators today before Dewan Negara president Tan Sri Abu Zahar Ujang.

Abdul Wahid, 49, has been appointed a minister in the Prime Minister's Department, in charge of the Economic Planning Unit (EPU).
He joined Bumiputra Merchant Bankers Berhad in the Corporate Banking Department in 1988. He also served at Telekom Malaysia Berhad as the chief financial officer in 2001.

Approached by reporters, Abdul Wahid pledged to do his best for the people and country, particularly in the economic sector. He expressed his appreciation for Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak and the government on his appointment.